Mine That Bird

9 Jul

Need some inspiration?

Image

Today This American Life played a rerun which normally would upset me beyond consoling, but they chose one of my all time favorite episodes to replay, “Long Shot”. If you haven’t heard it, download it this week on iTunes before they replace it on Sunday or here on the site. Tell me, who doesn’t need an inspirational, against-all-odds kind of story every now and then?

I heard this episode when they broadcasted it, at least a year ago, probably more, and looked up the video of Mine That Bird, the 2009 Kentucky Derby winner who until the last possible moment, was so far behind the pack, you had to feel a little sorry for him. The odds were stacked against him, and his jockey said later on, “I rode him like a good horse” which just makes me want to root for the underdog, like, all the dang time. I cried the first time I heard the audio, I cried the first time I saw the video, and today hearing it and watching it again, I cried and was covered in goosebumps for the hundredth time. Here’s to perserverence and faith, y’all.

Check the video out right here.

Leave a Reply

